Lab Alumni

Graduate Students


Paul Scatena, Ph.D. Cognitive Science 1990.

Tara A. Nealey, Ph.D. Physiology 1992.

Jay R. Gibson, Ph.D. Neuroscience 1996. Currently Associate Professor of Neuroscience, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

Carrie J. McAdams, Ph.D. Neuroscience, 1998. MD 2000. Currently Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.

Christen E. Boudreau, Ph.D. Neuroscience, 2001. Currently Assistant Professor, Texas A&M University.

Tianming Yang, Ph.D. Neuroscience 2003. Assistant Professor, Institute of Neuroscience, Shanghai, China.

Joonyeol Lee, Ph.D. Neuroscience, 2008. Currently Assistant Professor, Sungkyunkwan University, Daejeon, Korea.

Amy Ni, Ph.D. Neuroscience, 2011. Currently Postdoctoral Fellow, Pittsburgh University.

Thomas Z. Luo, Ph.D. Neuroscience, 2016. Currently Postdoctoral Fellow, Princeton University

Postdoctoral Fellows

Gary Sclar, 1986-1988, Ph.D. University of California at Berkeley. M.D. State University of New York Health Science

Center Syracuse School of Medicine.  Associate Physician, Medicine, Mount Sinai Hospital (deceased).

Vincent P. Ferrera, 1989-1992, Ph.D. University of Chicago. Currently Professor of Neuroscience in Psychiatry, Columbia University.

Sidney R. Lehky, 1991-1994, Ph.D. University of Chicago.

John A. Assad, 1991-1996, Ph.D. Harvard University. Currently Professor of Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School.    


Anne B. Sereno, 1992-1995, Ph.D. Harvard University. Currently Professor of Neuroscience and Behavior, Mathematical & Computational Cognitive Science, Cognitive Psychology and Biomedical Engineering, Purdue University


Stefan Treue, 1993-1995 Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Currently Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience & Biological Psychology, University of Göttingen, and Director of the German Primate Center, Göttingen Germany.


Geoff Ghose, 1996-2003, Ph.D. University of California at Berkeley. Currently Associate Professor of Neuroscience, University of Minnesota.


Erik Cook, 1997-2002, Ph.D. Baylor College of Medicine. Currently Associate Professor of Physiology, McGill University.


James DiCarlo, 1998-2002, M.D./Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University. Currently Department Head and Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences & The McGovern Center, MIT.


William Bosking, 2001-2006, Ph.D. Duke University. Currently Research Scientist, Baylor College of Medicine.


Xinmiao Peng, 2004-2006, Ph.D. Washington University. 


Incheol Kang, 2006-2013, Ph.D. Seoul National University. Currently Postdoctoral Fellow, National Eye Institute


Marlene Cohen, 2007-2011, Ph.D. Stanford University. Currently Professor of Neuroscience and Associate Director of the Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition, University of Pittsburgh.


Supratim Ray, 2008-2011, PhD. Johns Hopkins University. Currently Associate Professor, India Institute of Science, Bangalore, India. 


Kaushik Ghose, 2008-2011, Ph.D. University of Maryland. Currently Senior Research and Development Engineer, Seven Bridges Genomics.


Mark Histed, 2009-2015, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Currently Unit Chief NIMH, NIH.


Patrick Mayo, 2011-2015, Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh, Currently Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Pittsburgh


Lindsey Glickfeld, 2012-2013, PhD UCSD. Currently Associate Professor of Neurobiology, Duke University

Bram-Ernst Verhoef, 2012-2017, Ph.D., University of Leuven, Belgium, Currently Principal Member of Technical Staff, imec